Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Dear Jill,

This is somewhat unusual. Ordinarily, I’d never think of writing to you. I’m not sure how you’d react or what you would say or how it would make you feel. Maybe one day you’ll get to read this. Maybe you’ll find some peace. Maybe I will.

Most importantly, if you remember nothing else, I want to thank you. I want to thank you for all you’ve done. All the hard work, long hours, tears, and fights that brought her to where she is. She wouldn’t be the person she is today if not for you. She’s told me so numerous times. I want to thank you over and over and over again.

I want to tell you that I love you. You mean so much to her. You’ve been her rock and support system through some of the toughest moments in her life. You are her family, no matter what the nature of your relationship was previously. Because you are her family, you are mine. Because she loves you so, I also love you. I want to love what she loves and I’m going to start with you.

I want to promise you that she’ll always be a part of your life. I want you to feel comfortable in my house because I hope one day that it’s our home. I want you to be comfortable with me, because I want to be comfortable with you. I don’t ever want you to hesitate to call her, text her, stop by to see her, should she ever be here.

I want you to know that we’re on the same side. I want the best for her, as I believe you do. I want her to be happy and fulfilled and I want her to follow her dreams, no matter how far away they take her. Because she’ll come home. She’ll come home for you and she’ll come home for me. I don’t want to hold her back or discourage her. I want her to be the best that she can be.

I think, if we work together, she will have the confidence and support to become truly amazing.

Truly,
Stacy

